Music News

2011 Britain’s Got Talent winner, Jai McDowall’s brand-new charity single, Don’t Forget Who You Are, is set for digital release on Monday 10th May 2021 via Sun Turtle Records.

2011 Britain’s Got Talent winner, Jai McDowall’s brand-new charity single, ‘Don’t Forget Who You Are‘, is set for digital release on Monday 10th May 2021 via Sun Turtle Records. Don’t Forget Who You Are was written as a demo in early 2020 by the then sixteen-year-old Ayrshire College music student Leah Batty as part of a songwriting competition and has since been developed into an anthemic modern pop song with a powerful lyrical message focusing on Mental Health Awareness.

The single will be released in association with The Kris Boyd Charity and Ayrshire College’s Passing Positivity initiative with all proceeds being donated to charity. Don’t Forget Who You Are was produced, recorded, and mixed by David McAulay (King Creosote, Mogwai) at Ayrshire College’s Rockpool Studios and was mastered by Paul Savage (Mogwai, The Twilight Sad) at Chem19 Recording Studio.

The artwork, which was hand-picked by Jai McDowall was designed by eleven-year-old Prestwick Academy student Fraser Ferguson as part of an Ayrshire wide competition and portrays a similar message to the song’s lyrical content and to Ayrshire College’s International Green Gown Awards winning initiative Passing Positivity, which was set up to help improve the mental health and wellbeing of students, staff, and Ayrshire’s wider community.

Ayrshire College’s Music & Sound Production Department has played a big part in the release. Sun Turtle Records is a student-run record label, and the track was produced in the college’s Rockpool Studios. An exclusive podcast is set for release through Rockpool Podcasts featuring discussions with Jai McDowall, Kris Boyd, Leah Batty, and staff from the college explaining the process of how the collaboration came together.

(Special Rockpool Podcast episode out 10th May 2021.) The B-Side was produced by former Ayrshire College Sound Production student Daniel Beattie, aka Bluewave, from Saltcoats, whose synth-pop interpretation adds glorious new textures. ‘Don’t Forget Who You Are‘ is released digitally on 10th May 2021 via Sun Turtle Records

Passing Positivity

“Don’t Forget Who You Are” is the brand new single by Jai McDowall, written and recorded in collaboration with Ayrshire College and The Kris Boyd Charity. The single will be available to download and stream on all music platforms from Monday 10th May with all proceeds going towards tackling the stigma surrounding mental health. Hear about The Kris Boyd Charity, Ayrshire College’s Passing Positivity Initiative and the story of how this project came to life on Rockpool Podcasts’ Passing Positivity special episode featuring songwriter Leah Batty, Jai McDowall, Kris Boyd, Sun Turtle Records and the team behind the single and collaboration

Single Press Release Artist: Jai McDowall Release: Don’t Forget Who You Are


01. Don’t Forget Who You Are

02. Don’t Forget Who You Are (Bluewave Remix)

Release Date: 10th May 2021

Label: Sun Turtle Records Format:

Digital Credits: Written by Leah Batty & Colin Train. 


Show More

Martin Bone - Editor-in-Chief

Martin is a founding member of Patchchord News and is Director & Editor-in-Chief for PCN Magazine / Patchchord News Martin also is a Freelance Photographer and lives in the Scottish Borders Scotland. Martin also specialises in Commercial Photography in Music & Events, Sports and Portrait Photography and Video. Also the Official Photographer for Football Club Maybole Juniors.
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: