Album Review: Queen of Soul is back! Gabrielle Releases ‘Under My Skin’ After 11 Year Wait

Hackney-born Gabrielle’s brand new album ‘Under My Skin’ will be released through BMG on 17th August 2018. 

2018 also marks 25 years since Gabrielle released her debut single Dreams. From the 1993 Gold certified album Find Your Way, Dreams entered the UK chart at #2, at the time the highest ever entry for a debut female artist, and remained at #1 for three weeks. 

One of the most successful UK singer-songwriters Gabrielle’s 2018 album ‘Under My Skin’ is 12 tracks of delicious smooth soul; Gabrielle has returned with a brilliant album of 3/4 minute uplifting tracks made to wrap around your ears with harmonic tenderness and revitalising comfort. 

Track Listings:- 

1- Under My Skin 
3.47 min – bouncy tempo, love song singing of connecting souls, a song bursting with hope and ‘once in a lifetime’ love – catchy chorus – ‘got under my skin’ – splendid vocals from Gabrielle, enhanced by glorious backing vocalists 

2- Thank You 
3.29 min – faster tempo, inspiriting track themed around matters of the heart, strong vocals celebrating simple matters of humanity and love 

3- Show Me 
3.29 min – a song of belonging and togetherness, heart-warming easy listening track 

4- Every Step 
3.16 min – a slow paced track with piano and strings – prominent drum rhythm, a track of self-assurance and confidence. 

5- Stronger 
4.24 min – an energising track singing of holding on, an engaging arrangement with harmonic vocals and upbeat rhythm 

6- Put Up a Fight 
3.42 min – a growling base line, about relationships worth saving, clap-along rhythm 

7- Signs 
3.52 min – Gabrielle’s vocal range shines, another easy going atmospheric track 

8- Breathe 
3.58 min – another lovely chilled song albeit not a grand departure from other songs on the album, bluesy, vocal lead track 

9- Young and Crazy 
3.58 min – keys and guitar based instrumentals- a fast upbeat song, a classic Gabrielle style 

10- Take A Minute 
3.18 min – a song of introspection and self worth 

11- Won’t Back Down 
3.31 min – aspirational song, oozing strength and motivation  

12- Shine
3.57 min – a catchy pop inspired song -soaring vocals, upbeat lyrics and light instrumentals 

To pre-order a copy of Gabrielle’s new album ‘Under My Skin’ – click here

The fabulous news is that Gabrielle has a busy 2018 UK tour beginning Sunday 5th August (Brighton Pride), taking in Manchester’s Gorilla (13.08), Glasgow’s King Tuts (14.08), London’s Eventim Apollo (08/09.11) and finishing at Liverpool’s Echo Arena (17.11). Check out the full list of tour dates on Gabrielle’s website here. Gabriella will also join as a very special guest on Rick Astley’s UK 2018 Beautiful Life tour. 

Gabrielle Under My Skin Album Launch – Sourced from Gabrielle Official Website 25.07.18
Gabrielle’s Social Media Links 

Facebook / Instagram / Twitter / Youtube / Spotify 

Show More
Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: