Music News

Joy Division: Announce 40th Anniversary Vinyl Edition of ‘Still’

RELEASE DATE:  February 11th, 2022

Joy Division (c) Kevin Cummins

40 years on, Joy Division announce an anniversary, special vinyl edition of album ‘Still,’ out February 11, 2022
The release follows reissues of the ground-breaking debut album ‘Unknown Pleasures’ and sophomore classic ‘Closer’.  ‘Still’ will be a limited edition release with a ruby red sleeve, pressed on crystal clear vinyl.  It will be exclusive to New Order’s official webstore.

‘Still’ is a compilation album first released in 1981 after the death of Joy Division singer Ian Curtis.  Their two previous albums had already cemented the Manchester band’s iconic status in music history and ‘Still’ filled in gaps.
It featured previously unreleased studio material, two non-album tracks ‘Dead Souls’ and ‘Glass’ and a live recording of Joy Division’s last ever concert, at Birmingham University.  The show included the only live performance of ‘Ceremony’ by the band, who later became New Order with the addition of Gillian Gilbert and released it as a single.
New Order recently returned to live performance with a triumphant hometown show at Manchester’s Heaton Park.  They will be back for a show at The O2, London on November 6th.
New Order will be celebrating the 40th anniversary of their debut album ‘Movement’ on November 13th  by releasing their ‘Taras Shevchenko’ film to Youtube, which was filmed live at the Ukranian National Home, New York City on November 18, 1981, 5 days after the release of ‘Movement’. More details to follow.
A second series of the official Joy Division / New Order’s hit podcast ‘Transmissions: The Definitive Story’ is also in the works.
Side A
Exercise One
Ice Age
The Sound Of Music
The Only Mistake
Side B
Walked In Line
The Kill
Something Must Break
Dead Souls
Sister Ray
Side C
Means To An End
New Dawn Fades
Twenty Four Hours
Side D

Joy Division recorded only two albums before singer Ian Curtis tragically took his own life in 1980. But what the Manchester quartet lacked in longevity, they more than made up for in quality. The two albums were pioneering and helped shape the sound and mood of the alternative music that followed in the band’s wake. 
Ian Curtis (guitar/vocals), Bernard Sumner (guitar/keyboard), Peter Hook (bass), and Stephen Morris (drums) released their debut, ‘Unknown Pleasures’, in 1979. By the end of the year, the album’s atmospheric sound had won over fans and critics with tracks like ‘She’s Lost Control’ and ‘Day Of The Lords’.
‘Closer’, the group’s second album, arrived the following year and its dark and melancholy tones continued to earn rave reviews for songs like ‘Isolation’ and ‘Heart and Soul’. 
The compilations ‘Still’ and ‘Substance’ fill in the missing pieces of the band’s history with non-album singles ‘Transmission’ and ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’, unreleased studio tracks ‘Something Must Break’ and ‘Ice Age’, and choice live recordings ‘Disorder’ and the only performance of ‘Ceremony’. 

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!