Music News


LIGHTNING SEEDS have released their new album, SEE YOU IN THE STARS, their first via BMG which includes the singles Emily Smiles, Sunshine and Walk Another Mile. The album comes ahead of their full UK tour which begins in Cambridge on 27 October and concludes in Sheffield on 26 November.

The intoxicating SEE YOU IN THE STARS album is both tunefully and emotionally uplifting, and kick started the summer with the feel good warmth of the first two singles, Sunshine and Walk Another Mile. Each of the songs on the album were written and recorded in short bursts over the last three years. The first two to be recorded, Great To Be Alive and Live To Love You, were co-written with The Coral’s James Skelly, while current single Emily Smiles was co-written with Specials man Terry Hall.


  • Losing You
  • Emily Smiles
  • Green Eyes
  • Great To Be Alive
  • Sunshine
  • Fit For Purpose
  • Live To Love You
  • Permanent Danger
  • Walk Another Mile
  • See You In The Stars

In thirty three years as a recording artist Ian Broudie, the man who is LIGHTNING SEEDS, has sold a lot of records. Those include a million copies of Jollification, the 1994 album whose platinum success was spearheaded by the era-capturing single Change, and which Broudie recently celebrated with a sold out 25th anniversary tour.

Broudie composed Three Lions as the official England song for Euro 96. With lyrics by comedians David Baddiel and Frank Skinner, the song reached #1 and became a genuinely era-defining record and one with a remarkable afterlife as it regained the top slot two years later during the 1988 World Cup in France and became omnipresent once more during this summer’s Women’s Euros as the Lionesses brought football home.

I always think music is like attack and defence in football – or like politics – or like life. It’s about balance,” Ian Broudie says, “and achieving that is the challenge for me.”

SEE YOU IN THE STARS is available on CD and standard Forest Green vinyl with a limited edition Transparent Midnight Blue vinyl available from the official artist store, HMV and independent retail. 

LIGHTNING SEEDS embark on a 14 date UK tour this autumn as follows. Tickets available from:


Thu          27             CAMBRIDGE                            Junction

Fri             28             OXFORD                                    O2 Academy

Sat            29             FROME                                       Cheese & Grain


Thu          03             SOUTHAMPTON                    The 1865

Fri             04             LONDON                                    O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

Sat            05             LEEDS                                          Stylus

Sun           06             GLASGOW                                Old Fruitmarket

Thu          10             BIRMINGHAM                         Town Hall

Fri             11             NEWCASTLE                             Boiler Shop

Sat            12             LIVERPOOL                               Olympia

Thu          17             BRIGHTON                                Chalk

Fri             18             CARDIFF                                     Tramshed

Sat            19             MANCHESTER                         Albert Hall

Sat            26             SHEFFIELD                                 Leadmill


Show More

Raymond Thomson - Deputy Editor

I am a photographer/musician/engineer living in Scotland. My passion is music and motocross and I share my work on facebook/punk4RT and facebook/madmaxmedia. I do like a bit of throw back to the heydays of the 60’s/70’s/80’s when it comes to taking shots of bands. I grew up on the music papers (NME/Sounds/Melody Maker) and drew influence from Pennie Smith/Jill Furmanovsky/Anton Corbijn/Bob Gruen/Adrian Boot/Charles Peterson.
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!