Music News

Sydney’s DMA’S today announce the release of their new EP, I Love You Unconditionally, Sure Am Going To Miss You. You can listen to the lead single, We Are Midnight




EP available here:

Listen to WE ARE MIDNIGHT here:

After achieving the highest chart positions of their career with their euphoric, alt-pop tinged third album THE GLOW – #4 in the UK and #2 in their homeland of Australia – DMA’S return to their rock roots as they share their new I LOVE YOU UNCONDITIONALLY, SURE AM GOING TO MISS YOU EP. The EP is launched alongside the single WE ARE MIDNIGHT.

A short, sharp joyride of a record, the EP represents a tribute to DMA’S long term hardcore fans as well as to their love of rock music that still powers the band’s beating heart. It’s a reminder of where they came from and how far they’ve come. Regardless of how big they get, they’ll always be the same band that used to throw a mattress against the wall to record demos in Johnny Took’s flat.

DMA’S started recording demos for the EP when they were quarantining in Canberra ahead of their performance at the 2020 AFL Grand Final. Inspired by the freedom of working without pressure or expectations, the songs quickly emerged with an organic yet intensely focused feel. After brief sessions in Coogee with Dylan Adams – who engineered the band’s earliest recordings, including the Platinum hit single Delete – DMA’S had crafted an EP which blends the vibrant familiarity of their early days with the taut immediacy that they have since mastered.

This EP was in the natural trajectory that you can sometimes take in a band,” says Johnny Took. “You work with different producers and you want to keep changing, but there’s also something in your core that pulls you back. It’s cool to get back to your roots sometimes.”

That’s not to say that the EP is a regression. Instead, it showcases how versatile and how muscular the band’s songwriting has become since those early days. The single, WE ARE MIDNIGHT, captures the atmosphere of the open road, its distorted layers of shoegaze guitar and anthemic hooks echoing their love of the British indie scene. Similarly, the opener 1 WAY is faster, denser and louder than anything that appeared on THE GLOW. Meanwhile, VIOL has a pop instinct that belies its origins as a song written by Matt Mason on a Czech dobro; whilst the band’s first electric guitar ballad JUNK TRUCK HEAD FUCK features some of their most vivid and fully realised storytelling, with a bittersweet lead vocal courtesy of Tommy O’Dell.

Eagle-eyed fans might already recognise the title of the EP. A friend of the band had left the message I Love You Unconditionally, Sure Am Going to Miss You on a whiteboard before she returned home from Australia. It later featured in a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it moment in the video for their debut song Delete.

Credit Mclean Stephenson.


  • 1 Way
  • We Are Midnight
  • Viol
  • Junk Truck Head Fuck

DMA’S are set to make a long-awaited return to the UK and Ireland later this year. Their recently rescheduled and extended tour will see them play to a combined audience of 65,000 people with remaining tickets for the tour available here:


Sun 17 GREENOCK Town Hall

Mon 18 EDINBURGH Corn Exchange (SOLD OUT)

Tue 19 EDINBURGH Corn Exchange (SOLD OUT)


Fri 22 HULL Bonus Arena

Sat 23 NEWCASTLE Hit the North Festival @ O2 Academy

Mon 25 SOUTHAMPTON O2 Guildhall (SOLD OUT)

Wed 27 BATH Pavilion (SOLD OUT)

Fri 29 LONDON Alexandra Palace

Sat 30 LIVERPOOL M&S Bank Arena


Mon 01 MANCHESTER O2 Victoria Warehouse

Tue 02 MANCHESTER O2 Victoria Warehouse (SOLD OUT)

Wed 03 MANCHESTER O2 Victoria Warehouse (SOLD OUT)

Fri 05 PORTSMOUTH Guildhall

Sat 06 CARDIFF Great Hall

Sun 07 SHEFFIELD O2 Academy

Mon 08 BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy

Wed 10 LEEDS O2 Academy (SOLD OUT)

Thu 11 LEEDS O2 Academy (SOLD OUT)

Sat 13 DUBLIN Academy (SOLD OUT)

Sun 14 DUBLIN Academy (SOLD OUT)

Tue 16 BELFAST Limelight

Wed 17 BELFAST Limelight

Website | Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!