Music News

Texas Are Back on the Map – New Album ‘Hi’ Released May 28th, 27 Date Tour Spring 2022

Texas Are Back on the Map
New Album ‘Hi’ Released May 28th On BMG

‘Mr Haze’ Out Now
27 Date UK & Ireland Tour 2022

Texas make a very welcome return with their exhilarating new album ‘Hi’, flexing their rock soul muscle with 14 tracks that easily rank amongst the best of their stellar career. Scotland’s finest, Texas are a band in their prime, fuelled by the swagger of their recent acclaimed collaboration with the Wu-Tang Clan.

Back in 2018 Sharleen Spiteri and bass guitarist Johnny McElhone found some outtakes from the original ‘White on Blonde’ sessions that they forgot existed. Initially they thought these undiscovered gems could be released as a ‘lost’ album but listening to the tracks inspired them to write some really strong new material.

“Our excitement at finding this treasure trove of songs collided with our excitement back then and, unplanned, new songs started coming,” Sharleen says. “You could say we were inspired by ourselves!”

‘Hi’ is Texas’ 10th album, a stunning result of looking back with eyes fixed firmly on the future. Three of the songs were written in lockdown, in Scotland, Wales, LA and Sweden. Collaborations include ‘Dark Fire’, written with Richard Hawley, a lovely tune that recalls the spirit of a slow dance at a high school prom while ‘Look What You’ve Done’, is an intoxicating, classic duet where Sharleen trades verses with Clare Grogan (Altered Images).

‘Mr Haze’ is a soul -soaked Motown belter driven by a Donna Summer sample while another album highlight is the haunting piano ballad ‘Unbelievable’ with beautiful lyrics. “We don’t usually do ballads,” Sharleen admits. “But this one really stuck. The words are very intimate and personal while the music sounds really epic.”

‘Just Wanna Be Liked’ recalls their roots, equal parts Morricone and Wim Wenders.

“All our albums have cinematic songs,” Sharleen says. “Morricone in particular is still a huge influence. We’re referencing our past but also writing from the position we’re in now. Being able to stand back from what you’ve achieved gives you a different perspective. Our aim has only ever been to make great music.”

Luckily for us, Texas have done just that. New album ‘Hi’ is nothing short of a triumph. Enjoy the journey.

Tracklisting for ‘Hi” is: 

  1. Mr Haze
  2. Hi w/ Wu-Tang Clan
  3. Just Want To Be Liked
  4. Unbelievable 
  5. Moonstar
  6. Dark Fire
  7. Look What You’ve Done
  8. Heaven Knows
  9. You Can Call Me 
  10. Sound of My Voice 
  11. Falling 
  12. Hi (Single Mix) 
  13. Had A Hard Day *
  14. Had to Leave *

* = Deluxe Album 

Texas play the following UK dates. Tickets on sale now from HERE. 

Feb 2022
Thu 10th  Dublin, Olympia
Fri 11th  Dublin, Olympia
Sun 13th  Belfast, Waterfront
Mon 14th  Belfast, Waterfront
Wed 16th  Island of Man, Villa Marina
Fri 18th  Nottingham, Royal Concert Hall
Sat 19th  Halifax, Victoria Theatre
Mon 21st  Liverpool, Philharmonic Hall
Tue 22nd  Northampton, Derngate
Thu 24th  Guildford, G Live
Fri 25th  Harrogate, Convention Centre
Sat 26th  Hull, Bonus Arena
Mon 28th  Sheffield, City Hall

Mar 2022
Tue 1st  Leicester, De Montfort Hall
Thu 3rd Newcastle, O2 City Hall
Sat 5th  Birmingham, Symphony Hall
Mon 7th  Southend, Cliffs Pavilion
Tue 8th  Manchester, Bridgewater Hall
Thu 10th  Bath, Forum
Fri 11th  Brighton, Centre
Sat 12th  Bournemouth, International Centre
Mon 14th  Cardiff, St David’s Hall
Tue 15th  Llandudno, Venue Cymru Theatre
Wed 16th  London, Palladium
Fri 18th  Oxford, New Theatre
Sat 19th  Margate, Winter Gardens
Sun 20th  Stoke-On-Trent, Victoria Hall

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!