Music News


Album Drops December 3, 2021

John Lodge, legendary bass player, songwriter and vocalist of The Moody Blues, and inductee of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, is to release a new version of his classic hit “Ride My See-Saw’”out on Keeping the Faith for Halesouth Ltd, distributed by BFD/The Orchard.  The song also features Jon Davison of YES on backing vocals. 

The song was recorded live in Las Vegas on ‘The Royal Affair Tour’, and appears on Lodge’s new live album, ‘The Royal Affair and After’ due for release on December 3rd, and available now for pre-order here.

“Ride My See-Saw” was written by Lodge, and was one of two singles from their ‘In Search of the Lost Chord’ album released in 1967. Billboard described it at the time as a “blockbuster rocker” and a “mover from start to finish”, and Lodge’s new version continues to be that ‘rocker’ today! The song explores the idea of knowledge in a changing world, and ponders the question if perhaps what we are taught is not how things really are. Despite being 54 years old, the theme, and the sound, are as relevant today as they were back then.  

In Lodge’s words, “The song is really about growing up. You are taught things at school, and given ‘tools’, but then you grow up and go into the world.  Then it’s up to you to discover for yourself what’s really happening. “‘Ride My See-Saw’ is really about how life is full of highs and lows, you can’t ride the wave forever….and the secret to me is to find a balance to keep the glass half full… something I’ve thought about a lot over the last 18 months.”

“Ride My See-Saw” has long been known by fans as the finale at the Moodies shows, and each night during the ‘Royal Affair Tour’ Jon Davison would join Lodge and his band on stage during this ‘encore’, adding his backing vocals to this rocking hit, arguably even more of a rocker than it was 54 years ago!

Davison has been the lead singer with YES since 2012, and has been friends with Lodge since they met on the ‘Cruise to the Edge’ in 2019.

Joining Lodge on stage is his ‘10,000 Light Years Band’; Alan Hewitt (Music Director and Keyboards), Billy Ashbaugh (Drums), Duffy King (Guitars) and Jason Charboneau (Cello). Together they capture the heart of this classic Moody Blues song, staying true to the original, whilst at the same time bringing a modern feel to it.

Pre-order / pre-save ‘THE ROYAL AFFAIR AND AFTER’ here: 

THE ROYAL AFFAIR AND AFTER‘ is to be released on DECEMBER 3 on CD and digital download. The limited edition vinyl will be released on JANUARY 28.

Track Listing (CD and Digital)

1.    Steppin’ in a Slide Zone

2.    Saved by the Music 

3.    Legend of a Mind

4.   Sunset 

5. Late Lament (with Graeme Edge)

6. Nights in White Satin (with Jon Davison)

7.    Gemini Dream

8.   Isn’t Life Strange 

9.    I’m Just a Singer (In a Rock and Roll Band)

10.   Ride My See-Saw (with Jon Davison)

Recorded Live on the ‘Royal Affair Tour’, and on the ‘Performs Classic Moody Blues Tour’ in 2019 and 2020.

JOHN LODGE 2022 TOUR DATES (more to follow!)

8 March Infinity Hall, Norfolk CT 

9 March Levoy Theatre, Millville NJ

11 March Suffolk Theater, Riverhead NY

12 March Warehouse at FTC, Fairfield CT

13 March Infinity Hall, Hartford CT

15 March Sellersville Theater, Sellersville PA

16 March Rams Head on Stage, Annapolis MD

17 March The Tin Pan, Richmond VA

19 March City Winery, Nashville TN

20 March City Winery, Atlanta GA (two shows in 1 night)

23 March TBC

25 March Ponte Vedra Hall, Jacksonville FL

26 March Stage 954 at the Casino at Dania Beach, Dania Beach FL

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!