Music News


Lucy will be releasing her poignant new single Sober on 16th October 2020 from her brand-new album, Choices, on 26th February 2021.

This new, deeply personal single explores Lucy’s battle with alcoholism and ultimately her raw determination to get better. 

No stranger to the spotlight, Lucy Spraggan is one of the UK’s most exciting and talented young, female singer-songwriters today. Despite shooting to fame after only a short time on the primetime TV show X Factor, she found herself hitting the headlines and becoming a household name as a feisty, female champion for the LGBTQ community.

However, Lucy has successfully retained respect from fans and critics alike as so much more than another reality celebrity. An accomplished musician, whose songs ooze with her personality and lyrical content full of humour, Lucy’s jaunty melodies will drop into your ears and bring a smile to your lips as you find yourself happily humming along at any hour of the day. 

X-Factor star Lucy Spraggan  her first single Flowers  from her New album Choices (out Feb 2021.)

The new single ‘Sober’ is a deeply personal reflection on her battle with alcoholism and her journey to becoming sober for well over a year.

Lucy has also sold out two socially distanced shows at Warwick Castle for Picnic at the Castle and is an advocate for mental health for CALM.

“I wrote this song in a matter of days after deciding to be sober. I wrote it with my friend, Joe, and I said to him that I thought it was something that I’m going to do for the foreseeable future and wanted to put the reasons down in a song. I I’ve met a lot of people through sobriety many of them have said that the song echoes their feelings. I needed to improve myself and remove alcohol from that situation. Writing it was a pretty deep experience, assessing my entire life,” says Lucy.

Always frank and direct, Lucy has been through a hell of a year. A break-up and an impending divorce, getting sober, discovering she was lactose intolerant, going through lockdown alone, dealing with trolls and cyber-bullying and developing abs 

to die for after losing 3 and a half stone through weightlifting, running and a healthy protein-rich diet. Now with a new lifestyle, a new outlook, a new body and a new girlfriend, her forthcoming album ‘Choices’ is packed full of songs that are born from the strength to overcome her heart-rendering life experiences and evident maturity and growth, both musically and personally. 

“Having others relate to Sober makes me feel less alone in the way that I felt about my relationship with alcohol and in turn, for people to hear a song that hits the nail on the head for them too. I hope that does the same thing for them,” says Lucy.

Sonically, Sober,’ and the new album,Choices’, are heavily inspired by Lucy’s zealous travelling spirit and the subtleties of American music and culture. Much of the lyrics were penned whilst on a US road trip pre-lockdown and were recorded this Summer in Scotland with multi-instrumentalist Pete Hammerton (One Direction, Paloma Faith & Little Mix) and renowned engineer Danton Supple (Coldplay, Morrissey, Kylie. Minogue.) “Whenever I had any time off, I’d just hire a Harley Davidson and ride it to the desert from Nevada to California. I was cruising along listening to old school music and it inspired a lot of the sound on this record.” 

Lucy Spraggan was the first X-Factor contestant to have a Top 40 single and an album before the live shows began in 2012 and went on to have 5 Top 30 albums, to perform at Glastonbury Music Festival twice and to be the first female headliner of Kendall Calling Festival

As an advocate for positive mental health, working closely alongside charities such as CALM and Alzheimer’s UK, she is also striving to help people feel more confident in themselves with her new online six-week workout scheme called, ‘Fully Rewired.’ a new initiative to help develop a space for people to share their goals and aspirations to get them inspired and physically active. So far over 7,000 people have signed up to the program.

Alongside the release of her emotive new single and forthcoming album, Lucy will be touring the UK in 2021. 


  1. Flowers
  2. Roots
  3. Sober
  4. Run To The Hills
  5. Heartbreak Suites
  6. If I Had A God
  7. I Spent A Night In The Desert
  8. You’ve Let Yourself Down
  9. Animal
  10. Wild
  11. Run
  12. Choices (Don’t Be Afraid)
  13. Why Don’t We Start From Here

For more information please visit:

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!