Old Patchchord News Article


DMA’S have released a new video for single ‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’ which was filmed at their recent headline London show at O2 Brixton Academy & directed by Jon Stone. The video release comes along with the announcement that their UK May tour dates are inevitably postponed due to COVID-19 and their new album ‘THE GLOW’ will now be released on Friday 10th July. DMA’S plan to stream their full set from O2 Brixton Academy soon.

“Due to ongoing threat of COVID-19 and in line with government policy it’s necessary to postpone our May UK tour dates until later in the year. Please keep hold of your tickets and we’ll be back with the new dates shortly (Ally Pally is still going ahead and tickets are on sale).

As we can’t be with you in person, we are planning to live stream the entire set from our show at Brixton Academy last month. More details to follow…here’s a preview clip of ‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’ (Live At Brixton Academy) to keep you going.

Thanks for your support. Stay Safe, Stay Indoors.” DMA’S

Latest single ‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’ is Inspired by the early 90s rave scene, in a nod to bands like Underworld, New Order, Orbital and The Chemical Brothers and furthers the DMA’S incorporation of digital beats and sequencers in their songwriting process.

The track started life as a demo recorded above the Botany Bay Hotel while Johnny and Mason were living upstairs, it didn’t find it’s place on the band’s previous two albums but became the band’s entrance song at gigs. The song’s time finally came when Johnny was living in Edinburgh, writing for ‘THE GLOW’ and came back to the bones of the track and fleshed out the idea, then brought it back to Mason & Tommy to add their parts and finish off ‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’ as a song. 

‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’is about humanity’s struggle to be adaptable, as creatures who are fundamentally resistant to change. Breaking away from the minimalist electronica movement, it features unapologetically busy beatscapes, a driving 4/4 pace and an adrenaline-pumping chorus showcasing Tommy O’Dell’s signature euphoric vocals.

Produced and mixed by Stuart Price (Madonna, The Killers, New Order), ‘Life Is A Game Of Changing’ joins 2019’s ‘Silver’, the band’s first release from ‘THE GLOW’ which has now been streamed over 8.5 million times and spent 3 months playlisted at UK radio.

They plan on returning to the UK this Autumn to play their biggest London headline show to date at Alexandra Palace on October 23rd.

Fans can pre-order ‘THE GLOW’ now. Itwill be available to purchase in heavy weight vinyl as well as a limited edition heavyweight tri colour vinyl which will be available through HMV and independent record stores – HMV.com and many indie store websites are still taking preorders. There will also be exclusive merchandise bundles with signed prints plus limited edition heavyweight transparent green vinyl & cassettes if purchased through the band’s official store; https://dmas.lnk.to/storePR


1. Never Before
2. The Glow
3. Silver
4. Life Is A Game of Changing
5. Criminals
6. Strangers
7. Learning Alive
8. Hello Girlfriend
9. Appointment
10. Round & Around
11. Cobracaine

DMA’S are made up of Tommy O’Dell, Matt Mason and Johnny Took. The band formed in Sydney and made an immediate impression with their 2014 debut EP. Their full-length debut ‘Hills End’ saw them crash into Australia’s Top 10, before ‘For Now’ cemented them as a force to be reckoned with. The album earned three ARIA Music Award nominations for Best Group, Best Rock Album and Best Independent Release.

In 2018 they became one of the first Australian bands to play the iconic MTV Unplugged session, following in the footsteps of all-time greats such as Nirvana, Oasis and R.E.M. The performance was captured in this summer’s ‘MTV Unplugged Live’album. DMA’S also released their second album ‘For Now’ in 2018, which achieved their highest UK chart position at #13, boosted by huge ongoing daytime support at radio. An impressive 40,000 tickets were sold on their headline UK tours and their summer touring continued that ascension with main stage sets at Isle of Wight, TRNSMT and Citadel alongside huge outdoor shows with Courteeners and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds.

About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!