Music News


Sonic Boom Six return with new compilation RE:Generation on their own Rebel Alliance Recordings, out March 1st

Having toured the world for the last two decades, Sonic Boom Six took the turbulent times of the lost lockdown years to take a deep breath, watch, and create. The band emerged from the rubble of culture and politics in 2023 with new Double A-side single ‘Future Shock’ b/w ‘One of The Boys’, both taken from their new compilation RE:Generation, out March 1st via the bands own Rebel Alliance Recordings. The album features these two new tracks alongside highlights from the band’s recordings from the last decade, including alternate single mixes and revamped 2023 EQs of fan favourites.

‘Future Shock’ ignites the compilation with quite literally a Boom – the band’s signature mix of heroically heavy riffs with dancefloor-ready grooves serves up their horror at the increasingly polarised warzone of social media discourse. New track ‘One of The Boys’ skewers the old boy’s network that has dominated British politics for as long as we care to remember over a mash-up of ska-punk and bass music. Throw in road-tested anthems like ‘Virus’ (Single Mix), and ‘No Man No Right’ and we have a record that celebrates the band’s remarkable journey while continuing their artistic evolution.

RE:Generation is a compilation encompassing the last decade of Sonic Boom Six music, featuring our favourite tracks from the band’s second primary line-up,” explains co-vocalist and lyricist Barney Boom. “The record includes two new tracks, standalone singles, fresh mixes and alternate versions and is the perfect jumping-in point for newcomers while offering a new take on well-known tracks for hardened fans. Far from being a straightforward retrospective, the release draws a line under the stylistic experimentation of our last few albums and looks towards a regenerated creative future, in which together we focus on a cohesive sound that draws inspiration from everything we’ve created over the last twenty years. Stay tuned.” 

In October 2023, Sonic Boom Six inspired a renewed sense of enthusiasm among their fans as they took their electrifying performances to sold-out stages across the country for the RE:Generation Tour. With the Re:Generation album launch set for March 1st at London’s Signature Brew on Blackhorse Road (TICKETS HERE) , US dates in April 2024 and festivals across the summer including Bearded Theory and SB6 is back to remind us once again that music has the extraordinary ability to touch our souls, unite us as a community, and pave the way for a brighter future.

RE:Generation Track-listing:

1 Future Shock
2 No Man, No Right
3 Virus (Single Mix)
4 Learn To Live With It (2023 Mix)
5 The High Cost Of Living (Single Mix)
6 Sunny Side Of The Street
7 One Of The Boys
8 For The Kids Of The Multiculture (2023 EQ)
9 New Style Rocka (2023 EQ)
10 Train Leaves Tomorrow
11 Keep On Believing (Single Mix)
12 What Doesn’t Kill You Make You Stronger (2023 EQ)

Sonic Boom Six are:

Laila K: Vocals
Barney Boom: Vocals and Rhythm Guitar
Nick ‘The Blade’ Horne: Lead Guitar
Jimmy T Boom: Bass and Synths
Luke Hesketh: Drums and Beats

Sonic Boom Six is an explosive and outspoken five-piece described as “taking ska, pop, grime, dubstep, punk and metal apart, then rebuilding them as a hyperactive hybrid” (Kerrang! Magazine). With a live show infamous for “clashing activism and good times”, SB6‘s legendary gigs are a party that started in Manchester, UK, transcending genres and connecting people from all walks of life. The Boom’s influences include The Specials, The Streets, Rage Against The Machine and The Fugees.

  • Over 2.5 million streams of ‘Sound of A Revolution’ on Spotify
  • Over 500,000 Views of ‘Virus’ video on YouTube
  • Five studio albums, one mini-album and two full-length compilations with countless singles, EPs and compilation appearances
  • Headline tours of Europe, Japan and the US (including the 2017 Vans Warped Tour) as well as slots at festivals including Glastonbury, Download, Sonisphere and the main stage at Reading and Leeds Festival
  • Written and performed songs that have appeared on BBC Radio 1, Channel 4, BBC 2 (TV), Rock Band and Sims 3 video games, and much more.     

Follow Sonic Boom Six online:


About The Author

Show More

Raymond Thomson - Deputy Editor

I am a photographer/musician/engineer living in Scotland. My passion is music and motocross and I share my work on facebook/punk4RT and facebook/madmaxmedia. I do like a bit of throw back to the heydays of the 60’s/70’s/80’s when it comes to taking shots of bands. I grew up on the music papers (NME/Sounds/Melody Maker) and drew influence from Pennie Smith/Jill Furmanovsky/Anton Corbijn/Bob Gruen/Adrian Boot/Charles Peterson.
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!