Music News

The Get Up Kids 25th anniversary release of “Something To Write Home About”

Emo pop-punk legends announce remastered and expanded version of their seminal LP

Kansas city’s finest are about to embark on a near sell out 39 date tour of North & South America, in support of the forthcoming reissue of their 2nd LP, considered by many their finest work. Splitting up and reuniting several times during the period between 2004 and 2012, they have to date released just 6 studio albums in that time, but it seems that the success and popularity of other acts of a similar genre has reignited interest in the band both externally and internally,

The newly remastered, genre-defining LP will feature expanded music and artwork, including a 28-page large format full-colour booklet. Its second LP contains a mix of 12 rare or previously unreleased demos (including the original four-track acoustic recordings by singer/songwriter Matt Pryor), which reveal the sturdiness of its songs – a tracklist battle-tested in hundreds of live settings. The Kansas City-based band of Pryor (guitar/vocals), Jim Suptic (guitar/vocals), Rob Pope (bass), Ryan Pope (drums), and Dustin Kinsey (keys), today also released the first official music video for the album’s urgent opener, “Holiday,” alongside its demo version, “Holiday (Demo).”

Something to Write Home About (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) is available for pre-order HERE. Digitally it is released on Aug 23rd with the physical vinyl copy on 20th September. There is no indication yet that it will also be available on CD. The vinyl format comes in various strictly limited to 1500 coloured versions so be quick.

“The biggest takeaway from watching this video is how young we were,” says Pryor of the “Holiday” video, which was directed by Shawn Brackbill and features unearthed tour footage from the era. “It’s like watching your parents’ home movies of you riding a big wheel in the backyard. Just babies. A lot of these are from a time when the record was finished but people hadn’t really heard it yet. We’d just spent a long, frustrating year trying to get it made and when it finally saw the light of day we just came out swinging. I remember a lot of these shows, The Fireside Bowl in Chicago particularly. That always felt like a home away from home for us back then. The kids onstage in these videos really have no idea how much this album will change their lives, that we’ll still be talking about it twenty five years later.”

It is hoped that some UK/EU tour dates will be forthcoming in late 2024 or early 2025.

Something to Write Home About (25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) 2xLP Tracklist:

1. Holiday 
2. Action & Action  
3. Valentine  
4. Red Letter Day  
5. Out of Reach 
6. Ten Minutes 
7. The Company Dime  
8. My Apology  
9. I’m a Loner Dottie, a Rebel  
10. Long Goodnight  
11. Close to Home  
12. I’ll Catch You  

1. One Year Later (Demo)
2. Close to Home (Demo)
3. Out of Reach (Demo)
4. Holiday (Demo)
5. Valentine (Demo)
6. My Apology (Demo)
7. Red Letter Day (Demo)
8. Ten Minutes (Demo)
9. Central Standard Time (Four Track Demo)
10. Long Goodnight (Four Track Demo)
11. The Company Dime (Four Track Demo)
12. I’ll Catch You (Four Track Demo)

About The Author

Show More

Andi Callen (Contributing Editor)

Original punk. Done everything there is to do in music, except run a record label! Addicted to noise and taking photographs of live music. Based on NW England, I've previously contributed to Louder Than War, MancAndi, The Punk Site, and Backseat Mafia, where I was Punk/Post Punk & Live Editor. Part of the original review team when Rocksound Magazine first started.
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!