Music News

McFly announce new album, Power To Play




McFly are back with Power To Play, their biggest, boldest and most brilliantly noisy statement yet. Their highly anticipated 7th album is an all-out celebration of rock music and will be released on June 9th, via BMG. Pre-order Power To Play here. Ahead of that, McFly will give fans a taster of the record with the very important question, Where Did All The Guitars Go? The first track will be released this Friday and can be pre-saved here

Throwing off the shackles of expectations and focusing on the things they love most about making music together, Power To Play sees McFly at their most honest but also with fun at the forefront. With production, songwriting and design talent all within the band, this record sees them make the record they have always wanted to make. Produced by Danny, alongside their good friend Jason Perry, the album is full of hair metal cheese, glam rock glitter and heavy metal attitude with hints of Van Halen, Mötley Crue, Poison and Def Leppard. 

Describing the record, the band added: “At the start of the process, we all got together and said what we wanted this new album to be. We all had this one thing in common, and it was guitars. We love being on tour and playing live, and we hate this weird pressure where you don’t get played on the radio if you have guitars in your songs. That was always in the back of our heads, so we decided to forget all about it and that same day Tom wrote ‘Where Did All The Guitars Go?’ on the way home. On every album, there’s a song which becomes a foundation, a lightbulb moment, and this was it. Guitars, honesty, energy, all these personality traits are what give us the band’s identity. We want to reach that kid with long hair, get them excited about music and make them want to pick up a guitar and jump on their bed. That’s what this record is about.”

Fans won’t need to wait long to hear the first fruits of Power To Play. This Friday, the four-piece release Where Did All The Guitars Go? A manifesto, declaration and a statement of intent all wrapped into one. The single is the perfect summation of McFly’s mindset right now and with riffs front and centre, it’s the first taste of this thrilling new era of the band. 

Undoubtedly one of the UK’s most successful bands, McFly have scored seven #1 singles, released six albums, two of which were chart-toppers and have played thousands of sold out shows. They have sold over 10 million records worldwide, won numerous awards including a BRIT for Best Pop Act, have over 1.2 million monthly Spotify listeners and have picked up over 91 million views on their YouTube channel. 


  1. Where Did All The Guitars Go?
  2. Land Of The Bees
  3. Forever’s Not Enough
  4. God of Rock & Roll
  5. I’m Fine
  6. Taking Back Tonight
  7. Honey I’m Home
  8. Route 55
  9. Crash
  10. Make It Out Alive
  11. Shine On

McFly are Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones, Harry Judd and Dougie Poynter.

Follow McFly at:







Apple Music


About The Author

Show More
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!